Menu toggle


09 Jul 2019

Photos by Andy Fagan

New records set at Harewood Hillclimb

Speed Championship Round 7 – Harewood Hillclimb 

Report by Andy Fagan
Round 7 of the Petro-Canada Lubricants Porsche Club Championship with Pirelli was at Harewood Hillclimb on Sunday 7th July. Weather was warm and dry as 15 Porsche drivers lined up for some firm competition along with over 100 other cars.
Starting with Class P4 the competition was as ferocious as ever and times were very close all day. Regular podium visitor Martin Leach took his ‘72 Porsche 911E to 3rd place with a time of 68.67 seconds. In 2nd place and fighting hard for a win was Stephen Jory in a 3.0L Porsche 944. Stephen set a best time of 66.50 seconds just over 4/10ths short of the winning time and had to settle for 2nd position. Winning the class for the 4th time this season was Wayne Eason in a Porsche Boxster 2.5L and a best time of 66.07 seconds on his 1st timed run, Wayne reporting he was on the limit and beyond at times!
Class P3 was the biggest class once again with many competitors sporting new modifications and all hoping for a podium spot. In 3rd place and just pipping his son Nick to the position was Ian Wadsworth (Porsche 911 SC/RS) with a time of 67.18 seconds. In 2nd position after 3 Weetabix was a very pleased Tom Fisher in “Tango” the well-known orange Porsche Boxster 3.2S and a PB time of 66.80 seconds on his second run. Winning the class for the 4th time this season was Justin Mather in a supercharged 2.7L Porsche 924 and a time of 65.12 seconds.
In class P2 we welcomed back Darren Slater in a very smart new Porsche Boxster 3.2S. Darren had a slight scare on the first practice run after over-filling the oil and sending clouds of smoke up the hill, however it was easily cured and Darren managed to take the 3rd spot with a time of 69.35 seconds. In 2nd position and pushing hard was Karl Lupton in a supercharged 3.0L Porsche 924S managing a great time of 64.25 seconds on his first run. Winner of the class was Andy Fagan in a Porsche Boxster 3.2S and a PB time of 63.57 seconds.
Only 2 competitors in Class P1 but both were trying hard. Peter Taylor had to give best and settle for 2nd place with a time of 64.85 seconds in his Porsche Boxster 718S. Winning the class for the 7th time this season was David Dyson (Porsche 991 GT3) and a new track record of 62.34 seconds.
All results and the championship standings can be found here.

Next event is a sprint at Castle Combe on 27th July. See you all there!