Menu toggle Shopping BasketYour shopping basket 0 items-£0.00 Become a MemberBecome a Member Become a member FacebookFacebook Sign in Search Search Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn
2017 3 November

Motor Sport Hall of Fame 2018 - nominee list revealed

By George Woodward 03/11/2017

Voting for the Motor Sport Hall of Fame 2018 is now open. The 2018 nominees include some of the greatest drivers and personalities from the history of motor racing, and the public can help decide which of them will join an illustrious line-up that already includes John Surtees, Ayrton Senna, Enzo Ferrari, Sir Stirling Moss and Michael Schumacher.

There are five categories open for the public vote – Formula 1, sports cars, motorcycles, US racing and racing car – with 12 legends & 6 iconic vehicles comprising each of the shortlists. The nominees have been chosen by the Motor Sport editorial team.

All voters will be entered into a special prize draw to win a package for two to the Le Mans Classic 2018, courtesy of Grandstand Motor Sports. Not only that, the lucky winner will also receive a beautiful Christopher Ward C7 Rapide Chronograph COSC Limited Edition watch, courtesy of Hall of Fame timing partner Christopher Ward.

The 2018 nominees are:

Formula 1

Sports cars


US racing

Racing car

Gilles Villeneuve

Jo Siffert

Freddie Spencer

AJ Foyt

Porsche 917


John Wyer

Kevin Schwantz

Jimmie Johnson

Williams FW14B

Mika Häkkinen

Norbert Singer

Kenny Roberts

Mark Donohue

Ford Cosworth RS500

Emerson Fittipaldi

Pedro Rodríguez

Wayne Rainey

Jeff Gordon

Jaguar XJR-9

Bernd Rosemeyer

Vic Elford

Mike Hailwood

Dale Earnhardt Sr.

Audi Quattro

Ronnie Peterson

Stefan Bellof

Joey Dunlop

Richard Petty

McLaren MP4/4

Nelson Piquet

Hans-Joachim Stuck

Mick Doohan

Bill France Sr. and Jr.


Jochen Rindt

Bob Wollek

Geoff Duke

Rick Mears


Mike Hawthorn

WO Bentley

Eddie Lawson

Al Unser Sr.


Gordon Murray

Henri Pescarolo

Soichiro Honda

John Force


John Cooper

Emanuele Pirro

Casey Stoner

Jim Hall


Jenson Button

Olivier Gendebien

Jim Redman

Phil Hill



The 2018 inductees will be announced at the Motor Sport Hall of Fame Awards dinner, held at the Royal Automobile Club, Woodcote Park on June 4 2018.

Vote for your chosen inductees by following the link below:

vote here

Now in its seventh year, the Motor Sport Hall of Fame celebrates the greatest names in racing across Formula 1, motorcycling, sports cars, and other disciplines. Previous inductees include heroes such as Jim Clark and Tazio Nuvolari, as well as Stirling Moss, Niki Lauda and Alain Prost among others. The event is held at the exclusive Royal Automobile Club and attracts many stars from the world of motor sport. The ceremony is now an established fixture in the motor racing calendar. 

Share this content

Join our community

Thousands of Porsche enthusiasts regularly engage through the Club forum and social media networks. You can keep in touch and learn about Porsche Club events and activities. It's being part of our strong community, drawn from all walks of life, that makes owning and driving a Porsche such a rewarding experience.

Become a member

Connect with the Club

Engage with Porsche enthusiasts on Facebook and Twitter. Keep in touch and learn about Porsche Club news, events and activities happening nationally and near where you live. Just click to connect with the UK's biggest and friendliest Porsche community.

Silverstone Auctions
Oracle Finance
Archant Dialogue