Menu toggle

My inadvertent 944 turbo project

aporschefan

PCGB Member
I've been looking forward to writing this post and wanted to wait until the car is back with me but thought I'd post this anyway as I can't sleep.

It's a bit of a long story but here goes. Do keep in mind, I'm no mechanic, useless with a spanner, never worked on a car and a novice driver in terms of fast cars. I do though want to learn about all these areas, and am especially keen to improve my driving skill. From where I'm starting, that won't be hard! :)

Space and time is a limited resource for me so usually end up handing the car to an indy for jobs I could/should perhaps attempt myself.

Anyway, apologies in advance for the long post, but here goes...

I bought the car in Feb 2011 from a chap in Stourbridge. He had it prepared for hill climb racing by a company based in the Midlands. As per the usual advice, a PPI was completed which didn't raise any major concerns.

Here's a little bit about the car - All taken from the original advert:

"Invoice was for over £10,000 and completed August 2010.

The car has been run in correctly over the 2,000 miles since and all niggles attended to (rubber pipes and hoses mostly).

Detail of work undertaken;

Engine re alosilled including pistons
new big end shells, main bearings and piston rings
Wide fire head gasket and head bolt kit
Re con cylinder head and water pump replacement
New gasket top end set and new turbo seals
Conversion gasket set
New water pump for turbo
New recon radiator
New clutch
New sump gasket and seals
Oil filter and coolant and oil
New balance belt
New cam belt
Bigger injectors
Syfi engine ecu mod
Chips for both boxes
Dual port wastegate
Boost control kit
Amal valve
Air mass kit
Re built gear box
Limited slip diff
Air con re filled and functions
All electrics checked and functioning - tilt and remove roof, central door locking, rear wiper and windows and front head lamps
New indicator housing and bulbs
New rubber hoses